honeystill.blogg.se

Type of files pagemaker 6.5 will open
Type of files pagemaker 6.5 will open







  1. #Type of files pagemaker 6.5 will open install#
  2. #Type of files pagemaker 6.5 will open mac#
  3. #Type of files pagemaker 6.5 will open windows#

#Type of files pagemaker 6.5 will open install#

I'm pretty sure GS asked me where on my HD to install it, it wasn't automatic. I might be forced to find a really cheap & old copy of InDesign (CS3 or CS4 version), if I can confirm it will run on my iMac, as well as open PM5 files.īut if I DO someday create new page layout files & choose to use Scribus, I still need to know for sure: If I move Scribus to Trash & reinstall it, will it find GS on its own? Or do I need to move both apps to Trash & begin again? Even getting Tiger in an Intel/Universal version wouldn't let me run PM. I'm pretty sure my copies of Tiger only install to PPC Macs, & PageMaker only ran on OS9 (Classic mode in Tiger, which WON'T work on my iMac).

#Type of files pagemaker 6.5 will open mac#

But that seems to be a slightly tortured process (find an older Mac that came with SL, install SL on an external drive, clone it to a new partition on my iMac & *hope* it works). I have been exploring dual booting to Snow Leopard, GarryP.

type of files pagemaker 6.5 will open

I'm a bit confused myself and I've written it! I hope this has been of some help and isn't too confusing. From what I remember the GS installer just put it where it wanted and Scribus picked it up just fine. The other way round, Scribus automatically finds it so trashing Scribus then installing GS, then reinstalling Scribus might be easier. Neither of these options is particularly "pretty" but they would let you edit your old projects while you move to Scribus for your new stuff.Īs for GS: I think if you install Scribus before GS you need to then tell Scribus where GS is (Preferences -> External Tools -> PostScript Interpreter, mine is set to "/usr/local/bin/gs"). It worked for me once but I can't remember how I did it now. Please don't ask me how I'm not tech-savvy enough to give instructions or support. There are loads of how-tos on the web and you should be able to find something useful in Apple's support area.

#Type of files pagemaker 6.5 will open windows#

(You can also buy a used copy of Pagemaker for Windows if it's not on the disk you have.) It just takes time and patience and faith. You'll need Windows installation knowledge but it's not that difficult. (Someone correct me if I've got myself mixed up here.)īut, if the Pagemaker installation disk also contains the Windows version (this sometimes happens), you can use "Boot Camp" (or a virtual machine like "Parallels") to install a secondary Windows partition (or VM) and install it there (if you have a spare copy of Windows lying around too). Tiger was never a universal as far as I know, except later Server versions. If Scribus can't read Pagemaker files (as mentioned above), have you thought about dual-booting your new Mac?Īt first glance it might be thought that you could have Mountain Lion in your main partition and Tiger (for Intel) in the secondary one but your copy of Pagemaker will be for PowerPC so it will be incompatible. If I *DO* choose to keep Scribus, how do I make it connect with GS, & what's the proper location for placing GS? Looks like I'm stuck with distasteful choices. Scribus was recommended for letting me access, modify & print my PM files, my reason for *trying* to get it to work on my new iMac. Or paying someone else to do what I prefer to do myself.

type of files pagemaker 6.5 will open

Rather than spending $hundreds (that I can't spare) for one application (InDesign) that barely gets used, or paying someone for something I can easily do (& would prefer to do myself), I was pursuing the suggestion of using Scribus.Īnd I'd rather not keep an old G4 Mac running Tiger/Classic (OS9) simply to use once a year. I open that an average of once per year to tweak & print copies of old documents, & *rarely* create new ones. Right now, I use a *very* old version of PM running in "Classic" mode (OS9) on my G4 Mac Mini.

type of files pagemaker 6.5 will open

The project mentioned might still be unfinished, but appears it would require having PageMaker installed on the same Mac as Scribus, so files could be "exported" from within PM & "imported" with Scribus? A lot of what I read in that thread was WAY over my head.









Type of files pagemaker 6.5 will open